The 4Cs of Diamond

Diamonds are forever and they are definitely considered as a Pride Possession. Diamonds are Beautiful, Rare and most Cherished. Each diamond is unique and is a miracle of time, place and changes.

Diamond has specific qualities that establish its value. In the starting of the twenty-first century, we have an agreed-upon standard by which diamonds could be judged. GIA created the first and now globally accepted standard for describing the quality of diamonds: They are Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat Weight.

Today, the 4Cs of Diamond Quality is the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. As the creator of the Diamond 4Cs and the International Diamond Grading System, GIA is not only a global authority but the world’s trusted source for an unbiased assessment. The creation of the Diamond 4Cs meant two very important things: diamond quality could be communicated in a universal language, and diamond customers could now know exactly what they were about to purchase.

1) Diamond Colour

A good Diamond Colour Actually Means the Lack of Colour.

The diamond colour evaluation of most gem-quality diamonds is based on the absence of colour. A chemically pure and structurally perfect diamond has no hue, like a drop of pure water, and consequently, a higher value. GIA’s D-to-Z diamond colour-grading system measures the degree of colourlessness by comparing a stone under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions to master stones of established colour value. Many of these diamond colour distinctions are so subtle that they are invisible to the untrained eye; however, these distinctions make a very big difference in diamond quality and price.

Earlier a variety of other systems were used loosely, from A, B, and C alphabet and 0, 1, 2, 3 or I, II, III numbers, to descriptive terms like “gem blue” or “blue-white,” which are notorious for misinterpretation. So the creators of the GIA Color Scale wanted to start fresh, without any association with earlier systems. Thus the GIA scale starts at the letter D.

Diamonds outside the normal colour range are called fancy-colour diamonds. In the US there are no guidelines for the use of the term “fancy-colour” in the US, but there is general agreement in the international trade that fancy-colour diamonds are either yellow or brown diamonds that have more colour than a Z.


Diamond Clarity Refers to the Absence of Inclusions and Blemishes.

Diamonds are the result of carbon exposed to tremendous heat and pressure deep in the earth. Small crystals can become trapped in a diamond when it’s forming. Sometimes as a crystal grows it can develop irregularities in its atomic structure. This process can result in a variety of internal characteristics called ‘inclusions’ and external characteristics called ‘blemishes.’ Evaluating diamond clarity involves determining the number, size, relief, nature, and position of these blemishes. It affects the overall appearance of the Diamond and eventually its value.

Clarity of Diamond is Divided into 6 Catagories.

1. Flawless
No inclusions and no blemishes visible under 10x magnification.
2. Internally Flawless
No inclusions are visible under 10x magnification.
3. Very, Very Slightly Included
(VVS1 and VVS2)
Inclusions so slight they are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification.
4. Very Slightly Included
(VS1 and VS2)
Inclusions are observed with effort under 10x magnification but can be characterized as minor.
5. Slightly Included
(SI1 and SI2)
Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification.
6. Included
(I1, I2, and I3)
Inclusions are obvious under 10x magnification which may affect transparency and brilliance.


A Diamond’s Cut Unleashes Its Light. Diamonds are renowned for their ability to transmit light.

A diamond’s cut is crucial to the stone’s final beauty and value. And of all the diamond 4Cs, it is the most complex and technically difficult to analyze.

The distance from the bottom of the girdle to the culet is the pavilion depth. A pavilion depth that’s too shallow or too deep will allow light to escape from the side of the stone or leak out of the bottom. A well-cut diamond will direct more light through the crown.

To determine the cut grade of The Standard Round Brilliant Diamond – the shape that dominates the majority of diamond jewellery – GIA calculates the proportions of those facets that influence the diamond’s face-up appearance. These proportions allow GIA to evaluate how successfully a diamond interacts with light to create desirable visual effects such as:

1. Brightness:
Internal and external white light reflected from a diamond
2. Fire:
The scattering of white light into all the colours of the rainbow
3. Scintillation:
The amount of sparkle a diamond produces, and the pattern of light and dark areas caused by reflections within the diamond.


Diamond Carat Weight Measures a Diamond’s Apparent Size.

Diamond carat weight is the measurement of how much a diamond weighs. A “carat” means 200 milligrams. Also, Each carat can be subdivided into 100 ‘Points.’ So a diamond that weighs 0.25 carats as a ‘twenty-five pointer’ and A 1.08 carat stone would be described as ‘one point oh eight carats’.

One very interesting thing to mention here is, although, there’s a very little difference between a 0.99-carat diamond and one that weighs a full carat but the price differences between the two can be significant. Also, Some weights are considered ‘magic sizes’ – a half carat, three-quarter carat, and carat.

The carat is the same gram weight in every corner of the world but It’s important to remember that a diamond’s value is determined using all of the 4Cs, not just carat weight.


So we saw today the most today 4Cs of Diamond. Which are Carat, Colour, Clarity & Cut. All of these together help in determining the Quality and the Price of a Diamond. In the next post, we will see a Guide on How to Buy a Diamond.